Sixty Spring Student-Athletes Earn NEWMAC Academic All-Conference Honors

Sixty Spring Student-Athletes Earn NEWMAC Academic All-Conference Honors

Boston, Mass. - May 8, 2017 - Sixty student-athletes competing in spring sports were recognized for their impressive work not only on their respective playing fields, but also in the classroom, as they earned New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Academic All-Conference honors, announced by the conference offices earlier this semester.

The Pride's 60 student-athletes ranks No. 2 in the NEWMAC, as MIT had 82 student-athletes earn NEWMAC Academic All-Conference honors. Sport specifically, the Springfield College softball team had a NEWMAC-best nine student-athletes recognized, while women's lacrosse had the second most in their sport with nine honorees. Men's Tennis' five student-athletes tied for the most with MIT, while men's lacrosse tied for second in the NEWMAC with seven student-athletes recognized.

Honorees must have met the following criteria: earned a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5/4.0 scale or 4.35/5.0 scale after the 2015 spring semester, achieved second year academic status at her institution, and been a member of the varsity team for the entire season.

The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference consists of 11 highly selective institutions committed to academic excellence: Babson College, Clark University, U.S. Coast Guard Academy, Emerson College, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Mount Holyoke College, Smith College, Springfield College, Wellesley College, Wheaton College, and Worcester Polytechnic Institute.



Kenny Walton
Brian Johnson
Mark Joao
Peter Marsicano
Alex Denoyelle
Fletcher Comment
Joe Gamache 


Brianna Weltlich
Jordyn Moquin
Eliza Poutenis
Sam Cox
Kirsten Drobiak
Carianna Gasdia
Alicia Pavadore
Shelby Allen
Kayla Padroff
Men's Lacrosse:
Kyle Dillon
Matthew LaCroix
Devin Samuelson
Austin Sierra
Nick Paine
Ray McCarthy
Jack Vail 
Women's Lacrosse:
Bianca Raniolo
Julia Bireley
Lilly Barraclough
Ann Mahoney
Taylor Kane
Andie Stone
Katie Stallone
Sam Scanu
Gabby Anderson  
Men's Track and Field:
Owen Ross
James Potter
Tyler Cronin
Matthew Blanchette
Oliver Johnson
Maxwell Pacetti
Alexander Niemiec
James Simpson
Daniel Lane
Women's Track and Field:
Julia Maturo
Brooke McCardell
Kristen Madeia
Tiffany Tenney
Rachel Kaliff
Abbie McCann
Abigail Tantorski
Macayla LaChance
Carly Markos
Courtney Luscier
Katarina Frazier
Katherine Lewis
Maria Travascio
Katie Benoit
Men's Tennis:
Justin Danielewicz
Court Honda
Chris Unger
Michael Marotta
Kyle Beynor