Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Field Hockey Earns Fifth-Best Team GPA in Division III; 18 Earn NFHCA Individual Academic Honors

Field Hockey Earns Fifth-Best Team GPA in Division III; 18 Earn NFHCA Individual Academic Honors

Springfield, Mass. - May 15, 2019 - The Springfield College field hockey program was recognized with a 2018 Zag Field Hockey/National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) Division III National Academic Team Award.  The Pride combined for a team grade-point average of 3.63 during the fall semester.

The Division III National Academic Team Award recognizes programs that earned a team grade-point average of 3.0 or higher during the fall semester of the 2018-19 school year, and Springfield had a fifth-best grade point average among Division III field hockey programs.  The Pride had 18 of its 22 student-athletes named to the 2018 ZAG Field Hockey / NFHCA Division III National Academic Squad, which recognizes student-athletes that have achieved a cumulative GPA of 3.30 or higher through the first semester of the 2018-19 academic year. This marks the fourth year in a row that Springfield has placed at least 18 student-athletes on the national academic squad for field hockey.

Of the players who garnered the national honors were: Kyra Ashe (Longmeadow, Mass.), Hannah Boylan (Mansfield, Mass.), Morgan Bronk (Ballston Lake, N.Y.), Taylor Conley (Yarmouth Port, Mass.) Belle Copponi (Dover, Mass.), Rachael Curtis (East Falmouth, Mass.), Emmalie Drake (Pittsford, N.Y.), Ashley Frank (Somerset, Mass.), Sydney Harris (Longmeadow, Mass.), Taylor Low (Longmeadow, Mass.), Patricia Murphy (Wilbraham, Mass.), Amanda Nusbaum (Conway, N.H.), Kirsten Oliver (Vernon Center, N.Y.), Holly Rivers (Danbury, Conn.), Mia Smith (West Bridgewater, Mass.), Gwen Smith (Westfield, Mass.), Lauren Trifone (Milton, Mass.), Emma Wesoloski (South Deerfield, Mass.). 

Of the 18 players who earned honors, Boylan and Drake were the senior athletes who have been represented nationally for their academic performance for all four years of their Springfield careers.  Additionally, Rivers and Frank were named Scholars of Distinction, which recognizes student-athletes who achieved a cumulative grade-point average of 3.9 or higher through the first semester of the 2018-19 academic year.

For the latest on Springfield College Athletics, follow the Pride on social media on TwitterFacebook and Instagram. Fans can also download the Springfield "Front Row" mobile app, powered by PrestoSports, on iTunes and the Android Mark.